Women of Munster lead the way for Macra Young Leadership Awards


The women of Munster have proven themselves by winning the top three prizes in a national competition to recognize outstanding young leaders of Macra Agricultural Skillnet.

Emma Kate O Dwyer, of Co Waterford; Sarah Kelly, of Co Offaly; and Caroline O Keeffe, of the Avondhu area, County Cork; were named winners of the 2021 ABP National Leadership Awards, which took place online this week and included Tánaiste and Minister of Enterprise, Trade and Employment Leo Varadkar as guest speaker.

Other finalists included: Emma Hurley, Avondhu Region, County Cork; Fiona O Leary, Carbery area, County Cork; and Grainne McPhillips, Co Cavan.

The competition aims to promote young leaders and recognize Macra volunteers and the level of work and commitment they put into the development of their local communities.

Macra na Feirme National President John Keane said, “Each year we recognize the leadership qualities of our members who have demonstrated exceptional leadership.

“This year we have six finalists who exemplify all that is truly brilliant about our members.

“We are lucky to have such great people at all levels of our organization.”

Kevin Cahill, managing director of sponsor ABP Ireland, added: “We are delighted to once again be supporting the National Leadership Awards and I would like to pay tribute to all of the finalists in this year’s competition.

“Macra has a proven track record of producing people who have given exceptional service at the community and national level.

“And I have no doubt that this group of finalists will be no different.”


About Author

Comments are closed.