I-Bowl Foundation Invites UAB, BYU to Play 45th Independence Bowl in Shreveport


SHREVEPORT, La. (KSLA) — Officials with the Independence Bowl Foundation took the microphone Sunday afternoon to officially announce which teams have been invited to this year’s game.

They are the University of Alabama at Birmingham Blazers and the Brigham Young University Cougars.

The 2021 Radiance Technologies Independence Bowl will be played on December 18 with kickoff at 2:30 p.m. CST at Independence Stadium in Shreveport. This date is a little earlier in the year than when previous I-Bowls were played.

Ranked 13th, BYU is the highest-ranked team to ever compete in the Independence Bowl, officials said. Previously, this distinction was held by LSU, which was ranked 15th LSU in 1997.

The UAB Blazers finished the season 8-4; and the 13th-ranked BYU Cougars’ record is 10-2, according to Conference USA. The Blazers finished third in Conference USA this season.

The I-Bowl will be the Blazers’ fifth bowl game; they have bowled four games since returning to action in 2017.

I-Bowl tickets are available by clicking here.


  • The Big Game Show, which features game show-style competitions between the players and coaches of both teams, will be held on Wednesday, December 15 at the Riverview Theater in Shreveport. The public will have the opportunity to participate in the free event.
  • The Rally on Red returns Dec. 17 with the Light Block Party, Louisiana Mardi Gras Preview Parade, Cheer Rally and Battle of the Bands. Dan Smalley of Shreveport will headline the evening at the block party.
  • Coca-Cola Fan Fest will precede the game, taking place from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Dec. 18 at the Louisiana State Fair Grounds in Shreveport.
  • Retired U.S. Army Lt. Gen. Joseph M. Cosumano Jr., a Shreveport native and graduate of Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, will receive the Omar N. Bradley Spirit of Independence Award Dec. 18. The award honors American citizens and organizations that symbolize the spirit of freedom and independence on which the United States was founded. Past recipients include John Wayne, Bob Hope, Ronald Reagan, Tuskegee Airmen, Berlin Airlift Veterans, and Battle of Chosin Reservoir Veterans.
  • The widow of North West State two-sport legend Joe Delaney will receive the Carl Mikovich Sportsman of the Year Award on behalf of the Haughton native. The award recognizes athletes from the Shreveport-Bossier City area who have brought attention to the area. Delaney died in 1983 while trying to save three children from drowning in an amusement park pond in Monroe.

Copyright 2021 KSLA. All rights reserved.


About Author

Comments are closed.